17
Jun
09

Doctors and chipmonks

I’ve come down with the flu! It’s really horrible isn’t it? I mean the word “influenza” really doesn’t describe the pain your body feels… When people say I have the flu, they should really mean it!!! I mean just having a snively nose and a cough doesn’t come close the feeling of your nervous system being shot, and your body aching from top to toe, plus the cough and the headache to go along with it all!

So anyway, on Sunday i started the dreaded flu, and on Monday I attempted the day at work. I lasted all of four hours and had to leave.  I decided that I should be a good girl and go straight to the doctor so I could get some anti-biotics and get this flu done and dusted quickly. So I went to the doc on Monday eve and got my meds happy to believe I’ll be good by Wednesday.

It was a public holiday in SA yesterday (thank god) thinking it was a good time to get sick cause I could rest and be good for work the next day. But yesterday morning I woke up to a HUGELY swollen face!!!!!! HELP!!!!! I looked like a chipmunk storing food for the winter! 🙂

After rushing off to the doc again yesterday morning, i was told that I had formed an allergic reaction to the Penicillin in my Anti-biotics which caused the swelling. I’ve been on this same anti-biotic before and never had a reaction before. The doc said that your body sometimes just decides that if you  have one anti-biotic too often your body forms a reaction to it. Last year I was on it for a long time because I had Glandular Fever.

Anyway, so I was a chipmunk for the day yesterday! I had an injection of cortisone which seemed to help and was booked off work until Thurs to let the swelling subside. I’m still a little bit swollen today so hopefully by tomorrow I’ll be chipmunk free! 

…Chipmunk OUT!!! 🙂

3 Responses to “Doctors and chipmonks”


  1. June 17, 2009 at 11:13 am

    LOL hope you look normal again tomorrow 🙂
    I have your photos on my memory stick now, will download it onto your pc when I get there this evening

  2. 2 Kathy
    June 17, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    Oh dear, hope you get better soon.

  3. 3 carl de Montille
    June 19, 2009 at 9:21 am

    that’s terrible lainy bugs.. shame. how an allergy works is you body needs to experience the drug/foreign body firstt, then develops antibodies to fight it. essentially an allergy is your body amune system that doesn’t like a med. which is why you can’t get an allergic reaction to something you have never had, as your body hasn’t created the antibodied yet.


Leave a Reply

